Journalist Speakers

Our award-winning journalist speakers give behind-the-scenes insight into the stories shaping the news. Their vast experience, curiosity, and passion make for riveting and enlightening lectures.

Masha Gessen

Russian and U.S. journalist, activist, and author of the National Book Award-winning The Future is History

Sheelah Kolhatkar

Journalist and author of Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street

Rebecca Mead

Author of literary memoir My Life In Middlemarch, New Yorker staff writer

Lawrence Wright

Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Looming Tower and staff writer for The New Yorker

More Journalist Speakers

Matt Bai

National political columnist for Yahoo News and author of All the Truth Is Out

James Bamford

Investigative reporter, bestselling author, and expert on the National Security Agency (NSA).

Moustafa Bayoumi

Journalist and author of How Does it Feel to Be a Problem? Being Young and Arab in America

Kate Betts

Fashion and style expert, author of Everyday Icon: Michelle Obama and the Power of Style and the memoir My Paris Dream

Katherine Boo

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and National Book Award-winning author of Behind the Beautiful Forevers

Rajiv Chandrasekaran

Former Washington Post journalist and award-winning author of Imperial Life in the Emerald City (inspiration for the 2010 movie Green Zone), Little America, and For Love of Country

Steve Coll

Two-time Pulitzer Prize winner, New Yorker staff writer, and author of Private Empire, Ghost Wars and The Bin Ladens

Dexter Filkins

Pulitzer Prize-winning foreign correspondent and author of The Forever War

Dr. Sheri Fink

Pulitzer Prize-winning medical journalist and author of Five Days at Memorial, M.D. and Ph.D. from Stanford

Franklin Foer

National correspondent for The Atlantic, New America Foundation fellow, and former editor of The New Republic

Joshua Green

Political journalist and #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Devil’s Bargain

Jean Guerrero

Award-winning multimedia reporter and author of upcoming memoir, Crux

Shane Harris

Investigative journalist and author of The Watchers

Charlie LeDuff

American journalist, media personality, and author of Detroit: An American Autopsy

Ariel Levy

Author of the New York Times-bestselling memoir The Rules Do Not Apply

Steve Lopez

Author of The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music

Roger Lowenstein

Financial journalist and bestselling author of The End of Wall Street

Bethany McLean

Vanity Fair contributing editor and co-author of All the Devils are Here and the national bestseller The Smartest Guys in the Room

Jenny Nordberg

Award-winning investigative reporter, foreign correspondent, and author of The Underground Girls of Kabul

Carla Power

Journalist and author of Pulitzer Prize finalist If the Oceans Were Ink

Ahmed Rashid

Journalist and author of Descent into Chaos and Pakistan on the Brink

Hanna Rosin

Journalist and author of The End of Men: And the Rise of Women

Jim Sterba

Award-winning journalist for The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times, and author of Nature Wars

Mark Sundeen

Award-winning author of The Man Who Quit Money and The Unsettlers

Gary Taubes

Journalist, nutrition expert and author of The Case Against Sugar, Good Calories, Bad Calories, and Why We Get Fat

Tom Vanderbilt

Journalist and New York Times-bestselling author of Traffic

Nicholas Wade

Freelance writer and former science reporter for The New York Times

Sam Walker

Award-winning sports writer and editor, author of The Captain Class

Chris Whipple

Author of the New York Times bestseller, The Gatekeepers: How the White House Chiefs of Staff Define Every Presidency.

Isabel Wilkerson

Pulitzer Prize winner and author of the critically acclaimed bestseller The Warmth of Other Suns

Tim Wu

Columbia law professor, originator of the term "net neutrality," and contributing writer for the The New York Times

Carl Zimmer

New York Times columnist and award-winning science journalist