Our Newbury and Caldecott Award-Winning Speakers


Boasting Newbury and Caldecott Awards, these award-winning author speakers are true literary masters whose work has reshaped children’s literature.

Holm Jennifer 600 388 72 ppi

Jennifer L. Holm

Three-time Newbery Honor-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of Babymouse

Three-time Newbery Honor-winning and New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Holm has been a favorite amongst educators, librarians, and children since the publication of her first award-winning novel Our Only May Amelia.

Matthew Holm 600 388 72 ppi

Matthew Holm

Co-creator of two award-winning graphic novel series for children, Babymouse and Squish

Part of the award-winning team behind the bestselling Babymouse and Squish series, Matthew Holm has charmed children and adults alike with his creative and eye-catching illustrations.

Paulsen Gary 600 388 72 ppi

Private: Gary Paulsen

Prolific three-time Newbery Honor winner, hailed as “One of the Best Loved Writers Alive” by The New York Times

A prolific, three-time Newbery Honor-winning author, Gary Paulsen has been hailed as “one of the best-loved writers alive” by The New York Times. Entertaining generations of children and adults with his stories, Paulsen is a dynamic and memorable speaker.

Carl Hiaasen Speaker 600 388

Carl Hiaasen

Bestselling novelist, Newbery Honor winner, and former Miami Herald columnist

Carl Hiaasen has been called “America’s finest satirical novelist” by The London Observer. He’s known for his irreverent humor and the colorful characters that fill his bestselling adult novels and award-winning books for young readers. His lectures offer audiences wickedly funny and fiercely pointed tales about his writing and his home state of Florida, as well as incisive commentary on environmental issues, modern culture, and corruption.

Chris Raschka 600 388 72 ppi

Chris Raschka

Beloved two-time Caldecott Award and Honor Award winner

Chris Raschka is a multi-award-winning author/illustrator of over 30 books for children. Named “one of the most original illustrators at work today” by Publishers Weekly, Raschka has been the recipient of two Caldecott Medals (for The Hello, Goodbye Window and  A Ball for Daisy) as well as a Caldecott Honor Award for the book Yo? Yes! One of the most prominent children’s book illustrators for the last two decades, Raschka is sure to keep crowds of any age entertained and engaged.

Matt de la Pena 600 388x 72 ppi

Matt de la Peña

New York Times-bestselling author of books for children and young adults

Matt de la Peña is a New York Times-bestselling author who has received numerous accolades for his young adult novels and picture books, including the prestigious Newbery Medal. His books include The Last Stop on Market StreetLove, and Ball Don’t Lie, among many others. He speaks to audiences of all ages about the profound impact of creativity and literacy.