Awards For Our Speakers


It was a week of celebration for the Penguin Random House Speakers Bureau with our authors winning prestigious awards.

2016 Pulitzer Prize

2016 marks the 100th anniversary of the Pulitzer Prizes. The Penguin Random House Speakers Bureau has the honor of working with numerous past winners, including the winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in History.

Pulitzer Prize in History

Custer's Trials

Custer's Trials - T.J. Stiles

T.J. Stiles won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in History for his book Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America. In this magisterial biography, Stiles paints a portrait of Gen. George Armstrong Custer both deeply personal and sweeping in scope, proving how much of Custer’s legacy has been ignored. This is Stiles’s second Pulitzer for History; he was the 2010 recipient in the category for The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt.

Celebrated short story writer Kelly Link was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction for her collection Get In Trouble.

PEN Literary Award

PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award

Thunder & Lightning

Thunder & Lightning - Lauren Redniss

Lauren Redniss is one of the most unique and creative science writers of our time. Her recent work, Thunder & Lightning, is a dazzling illustrated look at the forceful and alluring power of weather. Redniss’ lectures are as transformative as her books, as she retraces her travels to some of the most remote and extreme parts of the globe to experience and report on the weather firsthand.

2016 Indies Choice Awards

The American Booksellers Association  announced the winners of the 2016 Indies Choice Awards. Books by Penguin Random House Speakers Bureau authors were winners in major categories, and Richard Russo won the Indie Champion Award.

Adult Fiction Book of the Year

Fates and Furies

Fates and Furies - Lauren Groff

Lauren Groff is the award-winning and bestselling author of the celebrated short story collection, Delicate Edible Birds, as well as the author of three novels—The Monsters of Templeton, shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers, Arcadia, winner of the Medici Book Club Prize, and Fates and Furies, a finalist for the National Book Award and Amazon’s pick for Best Book of the Year. Groff is a captivating and thoughtful speaker who loves connecting with audiences over discussion of her bestselling works.

Adult Debut Book of the Year

Kitchens of the Great Midwest

Kitchens of the Great Midwest - J. Ryan Stradal

J. Ryan Stradal is a writer of incredible range whose New York Times-bestselling debut, Kitchens of the Great Midwest, is a big-hearted coming-of-age story that delves deep into the American heartland. Stradal’s talks are as generous as his written stories, retracing his unconventional route to writing and filled with anecdotes from his native Minnesota.


Richard Russo was honored with the Indie Champion Award, presented annually by the ABA to the author, illustrator, or group that, in the opinion of booksellers, has the best sense of the importance of independent bookstores to their communities at large and the strongest personal commitment to foster and support the mission and passion of independent booksellers.

A Pulitzer Prize winner for Empire Falls, Richard Russo is a master of rich characters and pitch-perfect descriptions of small-town America. His humorous lectures cover his approach to shaping narratives and how “home” has defined his work. His latest novel is Everybody’s Fool.

Congratulations to all the winners! Contact us about booking any of the above speakers for your events.