Add speakerRemove speakerSpeaker added

Nicola Yoon

#1 New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist

FacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn
  • About Nicola Yoon

    Nicola Yoon is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Everything, Everything, The Sun Is Also a Star, Instructions for Dancing, and a co-author of Blackout. Born in Jamaica, Yoon immigrated to Brooklyn with her family. She worked as a programmer for 20 years before publishing her first book. Inspired by the birth of her daughter, her debut novel Everything, Everything is a thrilling and heartbreaking story of a sheltered young girl who is allergic to the outside world, reflecting Yoon’s own personal feeling about wanting to protect her child from any danger. Everything, Everything became an instant New York Times bestseller and was adapted into a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson.

    Her second novel, The Sun Is Also a Star, is a touching story about race, the sense of belonging, and the internal struggle between pursuing one’s dream and meeting familial expectations as the readers follow two immigrant teenagers as they fall in love and chase their futures. A New York Times Notable Book and the recipient of the Coretta Scot King John Steptoe New Talent Award and a Walter Award Honor Book, The Sun Is Also A Star was adapted into a film in 2019, starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton.

    Yoon’s eagerly-anticipated third novel, Instructions for Dancing, was an instant #1 New York Times bestseller and a Good Morning America book club pick that Entertainment Weekly called “A charming, wholehearted love story that’s sure to make readers swoon.” This enthralling story explores all the promise—and heartbreak—of first love as it follows Evie, a teenager whose clairvoyance has shattered her belief in romance, and X, her ballroom dance partner with whom she shares unmistakable chemistry.

    Yoon is a 2016 National Book Award finalist, a Michael L. Printz Honor Book recipient, and a Coretta Scott King New Talent Award winner. She’s also the first Black woman to hit #1 on the New York Times Young Adult bestseller list. In her talks, she speaks on the immigrant experience, representation of diversity, especially in romance, and all things writing.

    In 2020, Yoon and her husband, David Yoon, an author and illustrator, launched Joy Revolution at Random House Children’s Books, an imprint dedicated to young adult romance novels about people of color. Yoon currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

  • Video

  • Praise for Nicola Yoon

    Praise for Instructions for Dancing

    If you want a story to make you laugh and cry (and maybe even try to tango), Instructions for Dancing has just the touch of magic you’re looking for.

    Apple Books

    Another stunning YA romance…

    PopSugar

    Yoon’s latest tackles the magic of first loves with unexpected gut punches tied together with meaningful storytelling.

    BuzzFeed

    Evie’s, and Yoon’s, musings on life and love will be appreciated by Y.A. readers of all ages.

    New York Times

    An endearing, affecting exploration of the journey of love. Everything Yoon touches turns to gold and this cinematic supernatural romance will be no exception.

    Booklist, starred review

    A remarkable, irresistible love story that will linger long after readers turn the final page.

    Kirkus, starred review

    Yoon delivers a story of love’s unpredictability and the importance of perspective that unfolds with ease and heart.

    Publishers Weekly, starred review

    A sweet, genuine love story sure to pull on the heartstrings.

    School Library Journal, starred review

    Yoon delivers this captivating story of first love with beautiful prose, clever dialogue that swings between laugh-out-loud funny and wildly insightful, clear respect for the complexity and nuance of her teen characters’ perspectives and emotions—and just enough magic to make it all truly unforgettable.

    BookPage, starred review

    Praise for The Sun Is Also a Star

    An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness–is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love… and it shines.

    Shelf Awareness, starred review

    Moving and suspenseful.

    Publishers Weekly, starred review 

    Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate. . . and the universal beating of the human heart.

    Booklist, starred review

    Fresh and compelling.

    The Horn Book, starred review

    With appeal to cynics and romantics alike, this profound exploration of life and love tempers harsh realities with the beauty of hope in a way that is both deeply moving and satisfying.

    Kirkus, starred review

    A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways.

    The Bulletin, starred review

    This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park.

    SLJ

    Praise for Everything, Everything

    Readers will root for the precocious Maddy as she falls hard for the boy next door . . . teens in search of a swoonworthy read will devour.

    Booklist

    Heartwarming and inventive.

    Mashable

    Not only was I totally hooked . . . by the end I was totally blown away.

    Arun Rath, NPR Weekend’s All Things Considered

    Nicola Yoon’s first novel will give you butterflies.

    Seventeen

    Deeply satisfying.

    The Bulletin

    This is an easy romance to get caught up in.

    Publishers Weekly

    A vibrant, thrilling, and, ultimately, wholly original tale that's bound to be an instant hit.

    Bustle

    A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone).

    Justine Magazine

    This extraordinary first novel about love so strong it might kill us is too good to feel like a debut. Tender, creative, beautifully written, and with a great twist, Everything, Everything is one of the best books I've read this year.

    Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Leaving Time

    There's a quiet beauty about Everything, Everything that kept me captivated from start to finish. Olly and Madeline's love story stole my heart.

    Katie McGarry, author of Nowhere But Here

    Everything, Everything has everything . . . romance, heart, and intelligence. Nicola Yoon's book and voice stayed with me long after I finished reading.

    Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die

    With her stunning debut, Everything, Everything, Nicola Yoon has constructed an entirely unique and beautiful reading experience. Gorgeous writing meshes with original artwork to tell a love story like no other. You’ve never read a book like this.

    David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland

    Everything, Everything is everything, everything—powerful, lovely, heart-wrenching, and so absorbing I devoured it in one sitting. It’s a wonder. The rare novel that lifts and shatters and fills you all at once.

    Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places

    Everything, Everything is wonderful, wonderful.

    SLJ (Starred Review)

    [A] fresh, moving debut.

    Entertainment Weekly

    Gorgeous and lyrical.

    The New York Times Book Review

    Will give you butterflies.

    Seventeen

    A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone).

    Justine

    YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here.

    MTV.com
  • Books by Nicola Yoon

  • Media About Nicola Yoon

Request Fees
and Availability

  • 212 572-2013
  • Nicola Yoon travels from Los Angeles, California

Similar Speakers

Jacqueline Woodson

National Book Award and four-time Newbery Honor Winner, MacArthur Fellow, and bestselling author of Red at the Bone

John Green

#1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska; co-author of the New York Times bestseller Will Grayson, Will Grayson

E. Lockhart

New York Times-bestselling author of We Were Liars